Der Ultimative Lissabon-Stadtführer für 2023

Lissabon ist die Hauptstadt von Portugal. Mit über 505 Tausend Einwohnern steht sie an 11. Stelle der Städte in der Europäischen Union mit den meisten Einwohnern. Die Bevölkerung von Lissabon macht mehr als ein Viertel der Gesamtbevölkerung Portugals aus. Die Stadt ist eines der beliebtesten Reiseziele der Welt. So empfängt der Flughafen Humberto Delgado in Lissabon jährlich mehr als 20 Millionen Besucher.

Historisch gesehen ist Lissabon eine der ältesten Städte in Europa. Unter der Herrschaft der Phönizier wurde Lissabon aufgrund seiner strategischen Lage um 1200 v. Chr. als Handelshafen genutzt. Die Stadt, die mehrere Jahrhunderte unter der Herrschaft Roms und dann mehrere Jahrhunderte unter der Herrschaft der Muslime verbrachte, bietet ihren Gästen viele antike Schönheiten.

Neben seinen historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten bietet Lissabon auch ein pulsierendes, modernes Stadtleben mit Attraktionen für Ruhesuchende und Abenteurer. Das Nachtleben der Stadt gehört zu den besten in Europa.

Warum Lissabon?

Lissabon ist eine Stadt, die ihr kulturelles und historisches Erbe sehr gut mit ihrem modernen Stadtleben verbindet. Die Hauptstadt ist voll von bedeutenden Spuren phönizischer, römischer und maurischer Einflüsse und hat keinen Mangel an historischem und kulturellem Kontext, der Besucher von überall her und aus allen Altersgruppen anlocken kann. Außerdem hat Lissabon ein pulsierendes Nachtleben, das vor allem jüngere Besucher anzieht. Für Menschen, die auf ihren Reisen Spaß und Abenteuer suchen, hat Lissabon zu jeder Tageszeit etwas zu bieten.   Die portugiesische Küche gehört nicht zu den berühmtesten Küchen der Welt, aber Lissabon hat – vor allem in Bezug auf Meeresfrüchte – viele Köstlichkeiten zu bieten. Die Stadt verfügt sogar über großartige Strände, an denen man im herrlichen Mittelmeerklima Zeit in der Sonne verbringen kann.

Lissabon ist also ein Reiseziel, an dem jeder seine Zeit genießen kann. Mit ihren kulturellen, historischen und künstlerischen Attraktionen, modernen Aktivitäten und paradiesischen Stränden bietet die portugiesische Hauptstadt ihren Besuchern ein ganzes Paket.

Was Kann Man in Lissabon Besuchen?

Lissabon hat mehrere Viertel, die bei Touristen besonders beliebt sind. Dies sind die historischen und kulturellen Zentren der Stadt. Vor allem Belem, Bairro Alto, Alfama, Estrela, Chiado, Sao Bento und Baixa sind die Orte, an denen Touristen die meiste Zeit verbringen. Die wichtigsten Artefakte, Gebäude, Museen und Attraktionen der Stadt befinden sich hauptsächlich in diesen Vierteln.

In Baixa gibt es alles, was das Herz begehrt: erstklassige Restaurants, tolle Geschäfte und Clubs. Chiado ist der nächste Nachbar von Baixa, wo sich Kunstgalerien und Designwerkstätten befinden. Bairro Alto ist der Ort, an dem sich das pulsierende Nachtleben der Stadt abspielt. In diesem Viertel gibt es auch viele Bars mit Live-Musik und Straßenkunstwerken. Alfama ist das malerische Viertel von Lissabon, das oft auf Postkarten abgebildet ist. Mit seinen engen Gassen, den Azulejos-Gebäuden und der Straßenbahnlinie 28 versetzt Alfama seine Besucher in eine andere Zeit. Belem ist zwar ein bisschen weit vom Stadtzentrum entfernt, aber ein Reisender muss hier unbedingt vorbeischauen. Hier befinden sich der berühmte Turm von Belem, das Jeronimos-Kloster und der Padrao Dos Descobrimentos.

Wann Sollte Man Lissabon Besuchen?

Lissabon steht typischerweise unter dem Einfluss des Mittelmeerklimas mit milden Wintern und heißen Sommern. Da Lissabon eine Meeresküste hat, ist die Hauptstadt ein wenig weicher, was zu längeren Sommern führt. In den Monaten Juni, Juli, August und September liegt die Lufttemperatur in der Regel bei 35 Grad Celsius. Im Sommer gibt es in Lissabon zahlreiche Festivals, Aktivitäten und Konzerte. Um das Wesen der Stadt voll und ganz zu erleben, ist der Sommer die beste Zeit für einen Besuch in Lissabon. April und Mai sind ebenfalls eine gute Zeit für einen Besuch, da auch in diesen Monaten Festivitäten stattfinden. Außerdem ist das Wetter im Frühling in Lissabon recht angenehm. Diese Attraktionen führen jedoch dazu, dass die Stadt mit Touristen überfüllt ist. Besucher aus der ganzen Welt strömen in die schöne Hauptstadt. Wenn Sie Lissabon im Winter besuchen, verpassen Sie zwar die Outdoor-Aktivitäten des Sommers, aber die Stadt ist dann weniger überlaufen und kann besser erkundet werden.

Wie Lange Sollte Man in Lissabon bleiben?

Wie bereits erwähnt, bietet Lissabon seinen Besuchern so viel, dass es schwer ist, einen Zeitrahmen für einen idealen Aufenthalt in dieser schönen Stadt festzulegen. Wenn das Ziel darin besteht, einfach alles in Lissabon zu sehen, könnten ein paar Tage ausreichen. Wenn die Besucher die Stadt jedoch in vollen Zügen erleben wollen, braucht jede Aktivität ihre eigene Zeit.

Innerhalb von 24 Stunden können Touristen ein Programm zusammenstellen, das Bairro Alto, Alfama und die Burg von Lissabon umfasst, wobei in jedem dieser Viertel genügend Zeit zur Verfügung steht. Wenn ein zusätzlicher Tag zur Verfügung steht, können die Viertel Baixa und Chiado mit einem kleinen Ausflug nach Belem in das Programm aufgenommen werden. Bei einer dreitägigen Reise könnte man eine Nacht im Bairro Alto genießen und noch etwas mehr Zeit in Belem mit einigen zusätzlichen Besuchen verbringen. Eine Woche ist wahrscheinlich der ideale Zeitraum für eine erfüllende Lissabon-Reise. In dieser Zeit kann der Besucher die Atmosphäre Lissabons in vollen Zügen genießen und sich für jedes Ziel in der Stadt genügend Zeit nehmen.

Transport in Lissabon

Lissabon verfügt über ein gutes Verkehrsnetz, das jeden Teil der Stadt mit angemessenen Gebühren verbindet. Ein Mietwagen könnte natürlich erforderlich sein, wenn man in Regionen mit ineffizienten öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln reist, aber im Allgemeinen sollten die öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel in Lissabon ausreichen, um Touristen überall hin zu bringen.

Lissabons berühmte gelbe Straßenbahnen sind das beliebteste Verkehrsmittel in der Stadt. Diese Oldtimer verbinden die engen und belebten Straßen der Stadt. Diese Wagen sind seit fast 150 Jahren für den Transport in der Stadt im Einsatz. Eine einfache Fahrt mit diesen Wagen kostet 2,90 Euro. Es wäre also logischer, Tageskarten zu kaufen, die etwa 6 Euro kosten. Das U-Bahn-Netz in Lissabon ist zwar nicht sehr gut ausgebaut, aber effizient. Um die einzigartige Atmosphäre der Stadt zu erleben, ist die U-Bahn jedoch nicht die ideale Wahl. Das besser ausgebaute Busnetz der Stadt könnte eine bessere Idee sein, wenn es darum geht, die Stadt bei Ausflügen zu beobachten. Eine Fahrkarte für die U-Bahn kostet 1,40 Euro und für die Busse 1,80 Euro.

Strände von Lissabon

Wenn es um die Hauptstadt geht, ist es oft sehr schwer, saubere, unberührte und ruhige Strände zu finden. Aber auch Lissabon mit seiner langen Küstenlinie hat hervorragende Strände zu bieten. Vor allem an der Westküste der Stadt gibt es viele Strände. Das Klima der Stadt sorgt den ganzen Sommer über für ein angenehmes und warmes Wetter. Die Atmosphäre der Stadt eignet sich daher sehr gut für einen Sommerurlaub. Die Stadt hat viele schöne Strände, die vom Stadtzentrum aus leicht zu erreichen sind. Die meisten dieser Strände sind in weniger als einer Stunde von Lissabon aus zu erreichen. An diesen Stränden können die Touristen etwas trinken, köstlich essen, Bücher lesen, spazieren gehen, schwimmen, surfen und das hervorragende Wetter genießen. Einige der bekanntesten Strände von Lissabon sind Cascais, Praia do Guincho, Praia do Cresmina und Costa Caparica.

Was Kann Man in Lissabon Essen?

Die portugiesische Küche ist zwar nicht sehr berühmt, aber sie ist köstlich. Die benachbarten französischen und spanischen Küchen sind weitaus berühmter als die portugiesische. Das heißt aber nicht, dass es keine portugiesische Küche gibt. Der größte Teil dieser Küche besteht aus Reis- und Kartoffelgerichten. Normalerweise gibt es zu Reis und Kartoffeln Aufläufe, gegrilltes Fleisch und etwas Fisch. Gegrillte Sardinen und Schweinefleischeintopf sind einige der wichtigsten Gerichte der portugiesischen Küche. Bacalhau, Francesinha, Cozido a Portuguesa, Pastel de Nata und Bola de Berlim sind einige der bekanntesten Gerichte der portugiesischen Küche. Portugal hat auch seinen eigenen Kaffee namens Galao, den man unbedingt probieren sollte, ohne Lissabon zu verlassen.

Qualität des Lebens

Die Hauptstadt Portugals ist ein leuchtender Stern an der Westküste des Kontinents. Menschen aus der ganzen Welt kommen in diese schöne Stadt, manchmal als neue Einwohner, manchmal als Touristen. Eines ist jedoch sicher: Lissabon wird Sie immer wieder aufs Neue begeistern. Im Vergleich zu vielen anderen beliebten Hauptstädten der Welt ist die Lebensqualität in Lissabon beispielhaft. Die Stadt bietet ein minimales Verkehrsaufkommen, erstaunliche und effiziente Transportmöglichkeiten und viele schöne Parks und Spielplätze für Kinder. Für Familien ist Lissabon sowohl als Wohnort als auch als Urlaubsort eine gute Wahl.

Auch die Stadtteile von Lissabon sind effizient geplant. Jedes hat die Qualitäten einer Kleinstadt. Es ist sehr wahrscheinlich, dass man alles zu Fuß erreichen kann. Außerdem sprechen die meisten Einheimischen sehr gut Englisch. Sprache und Kommunikation sind also kein großes Problem für Besucher. Viele andere kleine Vorteile erleichtern das tägliche Leben. Wie lange der Weg zur Arbeit oder zur Schule dauert, wo man gutes Essen findet und wo man die Kinder unterhalten kann – all das sind Probleme, die in beliebten Hauptstädten überdurchschnittlich häufig auftreten. Doch Lissabon übertrifft andere Hauptstädte in jeder dieser Eigenschaften.

Lebenshaltungskosten in Lissabon

Portugal ist Mitglied der Europäischen Union und gehört zur Eurozone, was bedeutet, dass die offizielle Währung des Landes der Euro ist. Dies ist immer ein Nachteil für Länder, die andere Währungen verwenden. Dennoch ist Lissabon eine der preiswertesten Hauptstädte, die man als Tourist besuchen kann, insbesondere in Europa. In Portugal kann man eine Tasse Kaffee für etwa 1,5 bis 3 Euro trinken. Eine Mahlzeit in einem Restaurant mittlerer Qualität kostet etwa 8 bis 15 Euro und ein Bier in der Regel etwa 2 Euro. Für Museumseintritte und Transportkosten können Touristen eine Lisboa Card erwerben, die es in verschiedenen Versionen für 1 Tag, 2 Tage oder 3 Tage gibt. Diese kosten unterschiedlich viel, sind aber auf jeden Fall ihr Geld wert. Die Lisboa Card kann am Flughafen erworben werden.

Tagesausflüge von Lissabon

Lissabon ist umgeben von Naturwundern, alten Ruinen, historischen Denkmälern und magischen Schlössern. Viele Schönheiten rund um die portugiesische Hauptstadt warten darauf, von Touristen erkundet zu werden. Diese Ziele sind von Lissabon aus mit jedem Verkehrsmittel sehr gut zu erreichen. Dazu gehören einige der schönsten Strände der Stadt sowie charmante Dörfer, die den Besucher in eine andere Zeit versetzen. Außerdem sind diese Orte in der Regel abseits des Trubels in der Hauptstadt gelegen. Viele Orte in der Umgebung von Lissabon bieten sich für einen Tagesausflug an. Einige von ihnen sind Sintra, Palacio Nacional de Queluz, Cascais, Evora, Batalha, Fatima, Costa de Caparica, Serra de Arrabida und Sesimbra.

Was Man für Lissabon Packen Sollte

Was für Lissabon zu packen ist, hängt natürlich von der Jahreszeit ab. In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass die beliebteste Reisezeit der Hauptstadt der Sommer ist, sind die wichtigsten Dinge im Rucksack leichte Sachen. Mehrere T-Shirts, kurze Hosen, Röcke und Badeanzüge sind ein Muss auf der Liste. Die Meereswinde der Hauptstadt können das Wetter in der Nacht auch im Sommer kühl machen. Es wäre also eine gute Idee, eine oder zwei Jacken einzupacken, nur für den Fall. In Anbetracht der vielen Sonnentage dürfen ein Hut und ein starker Sonnenschutz vor der Reise nicht vergessen werden. Schließlich wäre ein kleinerer Rucksack für den täglichen Gebrauch ideal, da das Herumreisen mit einem großen Rucksack die Freude an der Reise trüben könnte.

Lissabon Genießen

Lissabon ist eine Stadt, die weiß, wie man Spaß haben kann. Wenn Sie sich einfach nur amüsieren, werden Sie wahrscheinlich einen fantastischen Urlaub erleben. In Lissabon ist nachts genauso viel los wie bei Tageslicht. Die Portugiesen lieben es – wie viele Menschen rund um das Mittelmeer – zu essen, zu trinken und Spaß zu haben. Das heißt, wenn die Touristen einen Blick auf die bunte Bevölkerung der Einheimischen werfen können, brauchen sie sich nicht um exzentrische Aktivitäten zu kümmern.

Um Lissabon in vollen Zügen zu genießen, muss man unbedingt die Luft der Stadt einatmen, die voller Geschichte, Kunst, Literatur und Musik ist. Keine Lissabon-Reise ist jemals beendet, ohne einen Ausflug zu den Stränden, zum Gulbenkian-Museum, in ein Restaurant mit Fado-Begleitung, zu einem Diner an der Küste und in die engen Kopfsteinpflaster-Viertel der Stadt mit ihren malerischen gelben Straßenbahnen.

Umzug Nach Lissabon

Lissabon ist heutzutage ein beliebtes Ziel für Menschen aus der ganzen Welt, um dorthin zu ziehen.  Die Gründe für den Umzug können vielfältig sein, von beruflichen Veränderungen bis hin zu Ausbildung oder Ruhestand, neben vielen anderen.  Was jedoch beständig ist, ist die Gastfreundschaft der Portugiesen gegenüber denjenigen, die sich für einen Umzug nach Portugal entscheiden.  Es gibt viele Möglichkeiten, eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung in Portugal zu beantragen.  Wenn Sie EU-Bürger sind, erhalten Sie automatisch das Recht, sich in Portugal aufzuhalten.  Ist dies nicht der Fall, hat das portugiesische Programm „Aufenthalt durch Investition“ in den letzten Jahren an Bedeutung gewonnen; Sie können mehr über das Goldene Visum für Portugal lesen.  Weitere Optionen für Nicht-EU-Bürger sind das D7-Visum oder die Möglichkeit, dass Ihr Unternehmen oder Ihr portugiesischer Ehepartner Sie sponsert.

Most Popular Lisbon Articles

Latest Articles

All

The Ultimate Lisbon City Guide for 2020

Lisbon is the capital city of Portugal. With its population of over 505 thousand people, it is the 11th most crowded city amongst European Union cities. Lisbon’s population constitutes over a quarter of the total population in Portugal. The city is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. As a result, Lisbon’s Humberto Delgado Airport welcomes more than 20 million visitors per year.

Historically, Lisbon is one of the oldest cities in Europe. Under the Phoenicians’ reign, Lisbon was used as a trade port with its strategic location during 1200s BC. The city that spent several centuries under Rome’s reign and then several centuries under Muslims’ reign offers many antique beauties to its guests.

Apart from its historical attractions, Lisbon also offers a vibrant, modern city life with attractions for both who seek peace and adventure. The city’s nightlife is among the bests of Europe.

Why Lisbon?

Lisbon is a city that combines its cultural and historical heritage with its modern city life very well. Packed with significant traces of Phoenician, Roman and Moorish influences, the capital has no shortage of historical and cultural context that may lure visitors from everywhere and all ages. Also, Lisbon has a vibrant nightlife which caters to the younger visitors. For people who seek fun and adventure in their journeys, Lisbon has something to offer any moment of the day.   Portuguese cuisine is not one of the most famous cuisines in the world; however, -especially in terms of seafood- Lisbon has many delicacies to offer. The city even has great beaches to spend time under the sun in the beautiful Mediterranean climate.

Thus, Lisbon is a destination where everyone can enjoy their time. Involving cultural, historical, and artistic attractions together with the modern activities and paradisal beaches, the Portuguese capital offers a whole package to its visitors.

Where to Visit in Lisbon?

Lisbon has several districts that are especially popular among tourists. These are the historical and cultural centers of the city. Namely Belem, Bairro Alto, Alfama, Estrela, Chiado, Sao Bento, and Baixa are the places where tourists spend most of their time. City’s important artifacts, buildings, museums, and attractions are mostly concentrated in these neighborhoods.

In Baixa, there is everything including top-quality restaurants, great shops, and clubs. Chiado is the next-door neighbor of Baixa where art galleries and design workshops dot the area. Bairro Alto is the place where the city’s vibrant nightlife is focused. There are also many bars with live music and street art pieces in the district. Alfama is the picture-perfect neighborhood of Lisbon that often shows off in postcards. With its narrow streets, Azulejos buildings, and tram numbered 28; Alfama takes its visitors back in time. Belem is a bit far from the city center but a traveler needs to stop by here. Famous Belem Tower, Jeronimos Monastery, and Padrao Dos Descobrimentos are located here.

When to visit Lisbon?

Lisbon, typically, is under the influence of the Mediterranean climate with mild winters and hot summers. Lisbon having an ocean coast makes the capital a little milder which results in longer summers. In June, July, August, and September, air temperature is usually around 35 C degrees. During summers, Lisbon is full of robust festivals, activities, and concerts. To experience the city’s essence fully, summer would be the best time to visit Lisbon. April and May are also good times to visit since there are festivities during these months, too. Also, the weather is quite nice during spring in Lisbon. However, these attractions cause the city to get crowded with tourists. Visitors from all around the world rush to the beautiful capital. Hence, visiting Lisbon in winter might mean missing the outdoors activities of the summer, but it also means that the city will be much less crowded and open to be explored.

When to go in Lisbon  Winter in Lisbon  Rainy Day in Lisbon

How Long to Spend in Lisbon?

Lisbon, as said, offers so much to its visitors that it is hard to put a timeline as to how long would be the ideal trip to this beautiful city. If the aim is to merely see everything in Lisbon, a few days might be enough. Yet, if the visitors want to experience the city to the fullest, every activity needs its own time.

In 24 hours, tourists might arrange a program involving Bairro Alto, Alfama, and the Lisbon Castle with plenty of time to spend in each. If there is an extra day, Baixa and Chiado districts may be added to the program with a small trip to Belem. If the journey is for three days, visitors might enjoy a night out at Bairro Alto and spend some more time in Belem with a few additional visits. One week is probably the ideal period for a fulfilling Lisbon trip. During this period, visitors may feel the atmosphere of Lisbon wholly while being able to spare enough time to each destination in the city.

A Budget-Friendly Guide for Lisbon

Transportation in Lisbon

Lisbon has a good transportation network that connects every part of the city with reasonable fees. A rental car might of course be needed when traveling into regions in-depth with inefficient public transportation, but in general, public transportation of Lisbon should be enough to take tourists everywhere.

Lisbon’s famous yellow streetcars are the most popular transportation option within the city. These vintage cars connect the city’s narrow and acclivitous streets. These cars have been working for the city’s transportation for almost 150 years now. One trip tickets for these cars cost 2.90 euros. So, it would be more logical to buy daily tickets which cost around 6 euros. Lisbon’s subway network is not highly developed, but it is efficient. However, to be able to travel through the city’s unique atmosphere, the subway is not the ideal choice. City’s more developed bus network might be a better idea when it comes to observing the city during trips. One trip tickets for the metro costs 1.40 euros and costs 1.80 euros for the buses.

Lisbon’s Trams  Lisbon Metro Guide  Aerobus in Lisbon  Lisbon Ferry Guide

Beaches of Lisbon

When it comes to capitals, it is often very hard to find clean, untainted, and quiet beaches around. However, Lisbon, with its long coastline, does not lack superb beaches either. Especially on the west coast of the city, there are many beaches. The climate of the city allows the weather to be nice and warm throughout the summer. Therefore, the city’s atmosphere is quite fitting for summer getaways. The city has many beautiful beaches which are easy to be reached from the city center. Most of these beaches do not need more than one hour from anywhere in Lisbon. In these beaches, tourists can have a drink, eat delicious meals, read their books, walk, swim, surf and enjoy the good weather. Some of the most famous beaches of Lisbon are Cascais, Praia do Guincho, Praia do Cresmina, and Costa Caparica.

Lisbon’s Must-See Beaches  Beaches in Cascais

What to Eat in Lisbon?

While not a very famous one, Portuguese cuisine is delicious. Neighboring French and Spanish cuisines are far more famous than the Portuguese. However, it does not mean that Portuguese cuisine is not existent. Most of this cuisine consists of rice and potato-based meals. Usually, casseroles, grilled meat, and some fish accompany rice and potatoes. Barbecued sardine and pork stew are some of the essentials of Portuguese cuisine. Bacalhau, Francesinha, Cozido a Portuguesa, Pastel de Nata and Bola de Berlim are some of the most famous dishes of Portuguese cuisine. Portugal also has its coffee named Galao, which must be tried without leaving Lisbon.

Where to Eat  Best Restaurants in Lisbon

Quality of Life

The capital of Portugal is a shining star on the west coast of the Continent. People from all over the world fly to this beautiful city, sometimes as new residents, sometimes as tourists. One thing is certain though, Lisbon never ceases to amaze. Compared to a lot of the other popular capitals of the world, Lisbon’s quality of life is exemplary. The city offers minimal traffic, amazing and efficient transportation options, plenty of beautiful parks and playgrounds for children. For families, Lisbon is a great option to consider both for living and vacation.

How Safe & Sound is Lisbon?

Neighborhoods of Lisbon are planned efficiently also. Each one carries the qualities of a small city. It is very likely to have everything within walking distance. Also, most of the locals speak very good English. So, the language and communication will not be a big problem for visitors. Many other small perks make day to day life much easier. How long it takes to travel to work or school, where to find quality food, where to entertain the kids are all problems that are more than usual in popular capitals. Yet Lisbon outclasses other capitals in each of these characteristics.

Cost of Living in Lisbon

Portugal is a member of the European Union, and is in the Eurozone, which means that the country’s official currency is Euro. This is always a disadvantage for countries that use other currencies. However, Lisbon is one of the most reasonably priced capitals tourists may ever go to, especially in Europe. It is possible in Portugal to drink a cup of coffee for around 1,5 to 3 euros. A meal in a medium quality restaurant would cost around 8 to 15 euros and a beer usually costs around 2 euros. For museum entrances and transportation fees, tourists can obtain a Lisboa Card which has different versions for 1 day, 2 days, or 3 days. These cost differently, but definitely worth the money. Lisboa Card can be obtained at the airport.

A Budget-Friendly Guide for Lisbon

Day Trips from Lisbon

Lisbon is surrounded by natural wonders, ancient ruins, historical monuments, and magical castles. Many beauties around the Portuguese capital wait to be explored by the tourists. These destinations are within a very close range of Lisbon by any means of transportation. Some of the city’s best beaches are among these destinations together with charming villages that take visitors back in time. Also, these places usually are stripped from the capital’s crowd. In peace, many spots around Lisbon are day trip options. Some of them are Sintra, Palacio Nacional de Queluz, Cascais, Evora, Batalha, Fatima, Costa de Caparica, Serra de Arrabida, and Sesimbra.

One Day in Lisbon  Two Days in Lisbon  Three Days in Lisbon  1 Week in Lisbon

What to Pack for Lisbon

What to pack for Lisbon, of course, differs according to the season. Considering that the most popular tourism period of the capital is summer, the essentials of the backpack are light items. Several t-shirts, shorts, skirts and swimsuits are musts of the list. Ocean winds of the capital might make the weather cool at nights even in summers. So, it would be a good idea to pack one or two jackets just in case. Considering the amount of sunny days, a hat and a powerful sunscreen are not to be forgotten before the trip. Finally, a smaller pack for daily use would be ideal since traveling around with a huge backpack might take the joy out of the trip.

Enjoying Lisbon

Lisbon is a city that knows how to have fun. Therefore, just getting along would probably result in an awesome vacation. Lisbon has lively activities at night as much as it has in the daylight. Portuguese people –as many people around the Mediterranean- love to eat, drink and have fun. It means that if the tourists can get a glimpse of the colorful population of the locals, they need not bother looking for eccentric activities around.

What to do in Lisbon: 40 Essential Activities

To enjoy Lisbon to the fullest, it is essential to breathe the air of the city which is full of history, art, literature, and music. No Lisbon trip is ever finished without a trip to beaches, to Gulbenkian Museum, to a restaurant with the company of Fado, to a coast diner, and to narrow cobblestone districts of the city with its picturesque yellow streetcars.

Moving to Lisbon

Lisbon is a popular destination for people from all around the world to move to these days.  The relocation reasons may vary from career moves to education or retirement, among many others.  Though, what is stable is the hospitality of the Portuguese people against those who decide to move to Portugal.  There are many ways to arrange for a residence permit in Portugal.  In case you are an EU citizen, you automatically get the right to reside in Portugal.  If not, Portugal’s residence by investment program has been on the rise in recent years; you can read more about the Portugal Golden Visa.  Some other options for non-EU citizens include the D7 Visa or your company or your Portuguese spouse to sponsor you.

What to do in Lisbon: 40 Essential Activities

Lisbon is a European city that manages to attract and entertain a larger number of travelers every year.  Gastronomy, Fado, the hospitality of Portuguese...

Most Popular Lisbon Articles

How to Travel from Lisbon to Algarve?

Algarve has some of the most beautiful coastlines of Portugal and traveling there from Lisbon is quite easy and enjoyable. It’s worth a visit not only for its beaches and spas, but also for its historical significance. Algarve’s coast is where Portuguese explorers set off to discover new places and cultures in the 15th century. […]

How to Travel from Lisbon to Porto?

Traveling between Lisbon and Porto is quite enjoyable because of the beauty of the route. The distance covering the area between two of the largest cities of Portugal is full of amazing features with views of the Atlantic from time to time. As both of these cities are within the central part of Portugal, the […]

Basilica de Estrela of Lisbon

Lisbon has countless breath-taking landmarks, and Basilica de Estrela is one of them. The monument that is built in the 18th century is an architectural marvel. Built as a fulfillment of religious doctrine, Basilica de Estrela is dedicated to Queen Maria I after she gave birth to a son. However, the son died before seeing […]

One Day in Lisbon: A Complete Itinerary

Lisbon is the capital city of Portugal. With its population of over 3 million people, it is the 11th most crowded city amongst European Union cities. Lisbon’s population constitutes over a quarter of the total population in Portugal. The city is one of the most popular tourist destinations in the world. As a result, Lisbon’s […]

Viva Viagem: Options to Discover Lisbon

A Viva Viagem card is a quick and easy way to pay for journeys on public transport in Lisbon. It can be used on almost all public transport, including metro, bus, tram, funicular, ferry, and suburban train. You can load different credits to it through different options like the Zapping option, one-day tickets, or single […]

How to Travel from Lisbon to Cascais?

Cascais is one of the most popular day trips from Lisbon. This little coastal town which is a traditional fishing region offers its visitors many pristine beaches. Cascais also has many historical buildings, museums, and authentic sceneries. With its 9 kilometer-long coastline, the popular resort town offers tourists with many spots to enjoy their vacation. […]

Latest Articles